Monday, April 1, 2013

Nominate an Exceptional Technical Woman for an 'ABI' Award

Nominate an Exceptional Technical Woman for an 'ABI' Award Anita Borg Institute award winners are recognized by the community of technical women at the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing ("Hopper Conference"). Awards recognize exceptional technical women for their leadership, technological achievements, and impact on society. GHC-13 Nominations for the following are due May 15 - for more, see URL:

 - 'ABI' Award for Social Impact
 - 'ABI' Award for Technical Leadership
- 'ABI' Denice Denton Emerging Leader Award
- 'ABI' A. Richard Newton Educator Award
- 'ABI' Change Agent Awards

The Anita Borg Institute is writing women into technical history. Thousands of women throughout the world are leading technology innovation. They often go unnoticed and unrewarded. The Anita Borg Institute has created a set of awards to honor these distinguished technical women and those who are working towards the recruitment, retention and advancement of technical women.

Monday, March 11, 2013

HTML - Disabled vs. ReadOnly

Key Differences between Disabled and ReadOnly html attributes:

The Disabled attribute

. Values for disabled form elements are not passed to the processor method. The W3C calls this a successful element.(This works similar to form check boxes that are not checked.)
. Some browsers may override or provide default styling for disabled form elements. (Gray out or emboss text) Internet Explorer 5.5 is particularly nasty about this.
. Disabled form elements do not receive focus.
. Disabled form elements are skipped in tabbing navigation.


The Read Only Attribute

. Not all form elements have a readonly attribute. Most notable, the <SELECT> , <OPTION> , and <BUTTON> elements do not have readonly attributes (although thy both have disabled attributes)
. Browsers provide no default overridden visual feedback that the form element is read only. (This can be a problem… see below.)
. Form elements with the readonly attribute set will get passed to the form processor.
. Read only form elements can receive the focus
. Read only form elements are included in tabbed navigation.